Welcome, Bright Moon . . .

It’s 8:46 pm here in eastern us.  After much to-do to get my laptop comfortably situated outdoors by my fire pit, I’ve finally settled in to say a few words. Tonight, until 2:30 am Tuesday . . . the bright mother moon is still waxing . . . the perfect time to express my gratitude and make wishes for the New Year.

There is much to be thankful for, and I enjoy being with nature to express it. There is nothing more magical than sitting by the fire and meditating with the moon. I enjoyed many evenings like this this past yuletide season. Getting away from the TV and sitting under a starry sky and a lovely moon helps me focus.  While the past few days have been almost freezing here in Florida . . . tonight is more like a mildly chilly autumn evening  . . .   cool, but not cold.

I do admit, I’ve been strangely silent this Yuletide season. However, I have been very busy experiencing it, gleaning more knowledge from this lovely ancient custom.  There are many different customs from all over the world that spark an interest in me.  Being a novice of course brings lots of discoveries . . . like how did they keep a Yule log burning for 12 days.  When you consider . . . as my oldest son pointed out . . . that the Yule logs were virtually the size of trees . . . very BIG trees . . and you try that out on a smaller scale . . . it’s not that difficult at all!

Tonight, the final night of the first waxing full moon, I found one tree sized branch from some hard pruning I made a couple of years ago. I also had the remainder of last year’s (2010) Yule/Christmas tree. If you lay it on the fire, just the top portion burns, and as it finishes that portion, you just move it up. Keeps the fire lit for hours. Now, it I had a much larger tree . . . I could probably keep it lit ( smoldering) for 12 days. I do have 2 or 3 trees that need to be cut down . . . ah . . . onward to next year!

More later . . .  much more I want to do before this window closes.

Love and Blessings to All,

Happy New Year! May all your good Dreams and Wishes come true.

Judy

Leave a comment

Filed under Rambling Thoughts

Leave a comment